Heated Enclosure

The place to discuss your hardware and software/firmware modifications...
pyronaught

Heated Enclosure

Post by pyronaught » Tue Dec 02, 2014 10:14 pm

While waiting for my new M2 Kit to arrive I built this heated enclosure. I'm new to 3D printing and was planning to mostly use ABS, although PLA is stronger than I thought it would be. Anyway, I read where ABS can warp or suffer layer separation if the ambient air is too cool, so I'm using an STS-1000 temp controller rigged to a hair dryer to keep the chamber from getting below a certain temp (yet to be determined). The cabinet tends to run at around 100 F inside with the front door open due to the heat the machine generates, and I wasn't planning to run it hotter than 120F anyway to keep the steppers from overheating. All electronics have been moved outside the chamber. I also put a portable de-humidifier in the filament storage cabinet, which is also rigged to a humidity controller on the front panel. This might be tech overkill too, but it is easy to do and not that expensive so might as well geek out just for the fun of it. I plan to eventually move the filament spool down inside the cabinet and feed the filament up through the floor of the chamber so that all filament is always in the de-humidified box. I live in Florida so the humidity here does get pretty high outside. Although I keep this setup in my office where I work, the environmental control it has would allow you to run it in a cold basement or humid garage too. Anyway, detailed build pics are below. So far the prints are looking great!