Loud Fans

The place to discuss your hardware and software/firmware modifications...
RH3D

Loud Fans

Post by RH3D » Tue Jun 16, 2015 8:25 am

Hey Folks

I am new to the MakerGear M2 world as I received my printer late last week. Unfortunately it is considerably louder than I expected, it sits on my desk in the living room. The Main Fan over the electronics seems to be the main problem, it will slow down from time to time and things get much quieter. I searched through previous posts but didn't see anything specific to the main electronics fan mod. Has anyone done this yet, any experiences or suggestions you can share to make the printer quieter?

Thanks
/Ryan

benavery

Re: Loud Fans

Post by benavery » Tue Jun 16, 2015 9:12 am

I replaced both the 40mm fans with Noctua ones, and they are much quieter. However, I found that the power supply fan turned out to be the the noisiest, and isn't easily swapable (without dismantling the power supply I assume)
I ended up building one of the IKEA cabinets to put it all in, and with the door closed keeps it very quiet. It also looks much cleaner/neater when you aren't using it (though the cabinet is kind of huge, so consumes more space)

Toyotany

Post by Toyotany » Tue Jun 16, 2015 3:04 pm

could you supply the part number for the fan?
Thanks
Lou

jsc

Post by jsc » Tue Jun 16, 2015 7:25 pm

These are the Noctua fans I was using for a while:

http://www.amazon.com/40x10mm-A-Series- ... B009NQLT0M

While they are dead silent, they also do not push as much air as louder fans. I swapped mine back out when I was having trouble with some clogs. It ended up probably not being the extruder cooling fan that was at fault, but I haven't bothered to switch them back in.

Just a reminder, you need to swap out both electronics fans and upper extruder fan at the same time with identical 12V 40mm fans, as they split 24V between them.

Jules

Post by Jules » Tue Jun 16, 2015 9:09 pm