Heatsink on extruder motor (running too hot)

The place to discuss your hardware and software/firmware modifications...
marvi

Heatsink on extruder motor (running too hot)

Post by marvi » Tue Feb 02, 2016 11:34 am

Hey all, I'm fairly new to the M2, and I've noticed that the extruder motor tends to get very hot during long prints. Sometimes I can't touch it for more than a couple of seconds. I'm not sure if it's okay for them to get this hot, so I'm attaching a heatsink to the motor. I found a couple of heatsinks at the electronics scraps store and I'm cutting them to size. I've attached pictures of the options I'm considering.

My questions though are these:
1) Do I NEED a heatsink on the motor? Or is it normal for the extruder motor to get hot?
2) If I do attach the heatsinks, will their weight on the moving carriage affect the performance of the printer? Option-1 adds approximately 102 grams to the carriage, and option-2 adds 35.5 grams.
3) Is there another simpler solution out there?

All thoughts appreciated
Marvi
Attachments
motorheatsink2.png
Option-2 (35.5g) CAD
motorheatsink.png
Option-1 (102.5g) CAD
2016-02-02 12.19.41.jpg
Heatsinks that I'm going to cut to size

willnewton

Re: Heatsink on extruder motor (running too hot)

Post by willnewton » Tue Feb 02, 2016 4:56 pm

I have never heard of the need to put a heatsink on any M2 stepper. You may only be fixing a symptom of a larger problem causing your overheating. Most of the time, it is too much current, a wiring issue, or perhaps a mechanical issue in your gearbox.
I'm finally back to where I started two days ago!

A thread with some stuff in it I update every once in a while. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=9
See some of my stuff http://www.thingiverse.com/willnewton/favorites

jimc

Post by jimc » Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:59 pm