Decoupage

Other stuff you would like to discuss...
jsc

Decoupage

Post by jsc » Sun May 08, 2016 10:13 pm

I bought some Mod Podge to try it out as a surface treatment for 3D printing. It wasn't very successful as I attempted it on a sculptural print with a lot of nooks and crannies where it tended to collect. I think it would work better for flat surfaced models, but it ends up with a brushed texture so I'm giving up on that.

Then I decided to give it a go with its traditional use in découpage, or "the craft of gluing paper onto things". It gives an interesting look to planar prints where it can be applied. Here's my result; note that it is my very first try at this, I made a lot of mistakes and it's not the best example of the craft.
Attachments
IMG_0600.jpg

Jules

Re: Decoupage

Post by Jules » Sun May 08, 2016 10:38 pm

I like that....does the box open? :)

jsc

Post by jsc » Sun May 08, 2016 10:45 pm

Yes, it does open, the model is this one: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:9602

I thought I would be clever and do the sides as one big loop, then split the seam afterwards. I left one side unsealed before attempting the split and that frayed the edge rather badly, so I think this box is going to be chalked up as a learning experience.

The hardest part is cutting the paper to size accurately. I was thinking that with a craft cutter (or Glowforge, come winter!) you could get some impressive results, like inlaid embosses.

Jules

Post by Jules » Sun May 08, 2016 10:49 pm

jsc wrote:Yes, it does open, the model is this one: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:9602

I thought I would be clever and do the sides as one big loop, then split the seam afterwards. I left one side unsealed before attempting the split and that frayed the edge rather badly, so I think this box is going to be chalked up as a learning experience.