pause reload and continue

The place to discuss the M3-ID
Post Reply
Mazhdulin
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 10:42 pm

pause reload and continue

Post by Mazhdulin » Sat Jan 09, 2021 4:12 pm

Hi all,

Is it possible to pause a print and load another filament spool and continue the print afterwards?.
and what would be the best way of going about this?

kind regards,

airscapes
Posts: 483
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: pause reload and continue

Post by airscapes » Sat Jan 09, 2021 5:57 pm

If you are doing this because you are about to run out and just want to keep going with a fresh roll of the same stuff you can do the following.
When you have about a foot of the old left to go, hang you new roll, pull the remaining filament out of the Bowden tube, slide in your new filament, then cut the old piece about an inch over the extruder housing and as it is pulled in follow it with the end of the new filament.. Do it all the time, even if you don't get it in exactly against the old cause your are nervous about doing it the first time, a slight gap will most likely not show up on the part unless of course it is on the external perimeter.. Even so, you will probably get better results this way then stopping and restarting..

jk42
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 5:19 pm

Re: pause reload and continue

Post by jk42 » Fri Jan 15, 2021 4:43 pm

~Jason from MakerGear

Post Reply