Gaps with ABS

General discussion topics
colin

Gaps with ABS

Post by colin » Sun Jul 06, 2014 1:01 am

I'm still new to working with ABS and am encountering some issues. My prints often have gaps between the perimeter and infill lines. Also, when I have small holes in my file, the print ends up going over and covering part of the hole. When I view the print preview, none of these issues appear. I'm using jimc's ABS profile - https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/m ... EId-LqyBsJ. Anyone have any idea how to fix this? I also included the factory file for one of my issue prints.

As always, I really appreciate this groups help!
Attachments
help.factory.zip
(18.23 KiB) Downloaded 392 times
image-28.jpeg
(751.59 KiB) Downloaded 2012 times
image-29.jpeg
(691.17 KiB) Downloaded 2012 times

ednisley

Re: Gaps with ABS

Post by ednisley » Sun Jul 06, 2014 2:04 am

colin wrote:gaps between the perimeter and infill lines
In this situation, geometry is not on your side: there's no way to fit a 0.4 mm thread (or whatever width the slicer is using) into the acute angle where those holes don't quite meet the perimeter. The slicer must end the infill thread where it touches the threads on either side, because it can't make the thread any narrower.

A similar situation occurs in the thinwall section of the second picture, where the infill threads become tangent to the perimeter wall. Because the slicer can't make the threads wider, it can't fill the slivers between the infill threads and the perimeter threads; if it moved the thread over to touch the wall, the thread would become thinner (and shorter), with a similar sliver near the other wall.