How many 3d printers do you have?

General discussion topics
willnewton

How many 3d printers do you have?

Post by willnewton » Tue Jul 08, 2014 2:26 pm

So, I was just wondering....I have had my M2 a few months and am pretty much in love with it (I am watching it print a quadcopter frame as we speak). I was wondering if some of you had multiple printers, if you have, how many?

You could have them currently running or maybe just say how many you have owned as you upgraded your collection. I am just wondering, maybe a little bit about your journey to using a 3d printer as well.

I have just had the M2 and it has gotten me hooked on 3d design and printing. I have an Art degree, ten years as a highend custom furniture builder/designer/repair and seven years as a jewelry designer/craftsman/repairs. I had training on computers in school and I got started professionally on CAD for 2d furniture designs because I could use an old plotter to print full size prints of furniture and then 3d design because I could let the computer figure out complex compound angles. In the meantime, I was designing/building high end competition sailplane parts and scratch-built my own 4-axis hot wire foam cutter.

Many years later, my wife and I opened our own store and I began using 3d CAD (Matrix/Rhino3d) to do designs for customers and then finally one of the other jewelry stores was kind enough to actually print one of my designs on their $70k Envisiontech and later he even let me borrow his old 4-axis CNC mill to try out milling my own waxes.

Then I got the M2.

I gave him back his CNC mill. I saw where the future was and have been using the M2 to test the feasability of purchasing a much higher end 3d printer for jewelry models for casting. I still want a 2nd M2 just to have running in my storefront, it is almost hypnotic to watch.

So, there you have it!
I'm finally back to where I started two days ago!