Potential New Buyer Wary of Noise and Fumes

General discussion topics
Badgerhawk

Potential New Buyer Wary of Noise and Fumes

Post by Badgerhawk » Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:52 pm

In addition to being a new list member I am a design engineer starting a CAD/RP business in our basement in a very rural area in WI. After doing a lot of research I have narrowed my choice down to an M2 or a Form2. Ultimately I would like both in the stable but will only get one fornow.

My only concern regarding the M2 is sound level and material fumes. Our house has an air to air heat exchanger for air circulation but likely wouldn't be adequate. The basement only has 4 small windows and none of those are in the room I work out of. The room is also directly under our bedroom. PET or PLA might not be able to be smelled but there is are surely would be health effects in this poor ventilation environment. I had looked at the Alfinia H800 for its HEPA enclosure but discovered its China origins.

Even though the Form2 is enclosed I would think that fumes would still be a problem during post processing and tank cleaning etc.

Even though it will be in the baement, the office is right below our bedroom. Will that still likely be enough of a sound buffer? My wife can get pretty grumpy about unwanted noises and smells.

Has anyone tried an off the shelf enclosure such as the 3DPrintClean? I am not fully opposed to a DIY box but my time is limited so a quick enclosure solution that works would be great.

TIA,
Jim

insta

Re: Potential New Buyer Wary of Noise and Fumes

Post by insta » Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:20 am