SHOT show 2017 - Who's going, what are you bringing

General discussion topics
Vandal968

SHOT show 2017 - Who's going, what are you bringing

Post by Vandal968 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:01 am

Last year we found out after the show that the M2 was a big factor for a couple of us. Who's going this year, are you bringing anything you can talk about, or are you holding back for a big reveal next week? My printer has been running 24x7 for the last few weeks getting ready.

cheers,
c

willnewton

Re: SHOT show 2017 - Who's going, what are you bringing

Post by willnewton » Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:57 am

Not going, but I like seeing what folks are doing with firearms and the M2. I have been making Bullseye target grips for my 1911s, scope covers, prototypes of pistols frames/parts, and even a grip checkering jig for 1911 front straps. I was able to print a some rare missing parts for a vintage Hammerli pistol and I have a Ruger 22/45 with so much printing done for that it looks like a Star Wars prop. :lol:

My firearm interest stays pretty much within target pistols and accessories, but I just picked up a milling machine and am testing CNC machining hardened steel with my Shopbot (lots of promise so far, within limits). So I have been able to step up my home gunsmithing game a fair bit.

In turn, these new machining capabilities open up new opportunities to 3d print. So now I prototype with the M2 before committing to metal. Or print an existing pistol part to test metal fittings so I don't damage something expensive and irreplaceable only to find out the part doesn't work out once it's installed. The printed parts have almost no cost, but are priceless in time and materials saved. You can't test fit a drawing!
I'm finally back to where I started two days ago!

A thread with some stuff in it I update every once in a while. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=9
See some of my stuff http://www.thingiverse.com/willnewton/favorites

Phil

Post by Phil » Wed Jan 11, 2017 2:49 pm