How to get a smooth finish on a PLA printed part

Post your advice, tips, suggestions, etc...
Artenen

How to get a smooth finish on a PLA printed part

Post by Artenen » Thu Jun 26, 2014 3:52 am

I'm wondering the best ways to get an ultra smooth finish on a PLA printed part.

Sanding?

Primer?

What has worked for the veterans here?

jimc

Re: How to get a smooth finish on a PLA printed part

Post by jimc » Thu Jun 26, 2014 3:56 am

well i paint for a living. if you want a super smooth finish on a 3d printed part then sand it smooth, spray a primer/surfacer, sand that smooth and paint the part.

mchawkeye

Post by mchawkeye » Thu Jun 26, 2014 1:10 pm

Yep, start sanding with something like 120 or 180 wet and dry and go up to 220. Spray with filler primer, sand again at 220 or higher. Repeat until smooth.

Some pla takes sanding better than others; I found colorfab pla to take sanding quite nicely, other I have had to use it wet or the pla tends to gum up rather than sand down, and the water or fluid tends to help avoid this by keeping the part cooler.

Finish with a final coat of primer before topcoat.

ketil

Post by ketil » Thu Jun 26, 2014 8:08 pm

Someone suggested that I sand plastic with wet paper and submerge the part in water while sanding, to avoid fine plastic dust in the air you are breathing. I have no idea how important this is, so it sounded sensible to me at the time, and that is what I've done the few times I've tried.

jimc

Post by jimc » Thu Jun 26, 2014 10:16 pm

haha if that was the case i would have been dead a long time ago.

mchawkeye

Post by mchawkeye » Sun Jul 06, 2014 11:30 pm

ketil wrote:Someone suggested that I sand plastic with wet paper and submerge the part in water while sanding, to avoid fine plastic dust in the air you are breathing. I have no idea how important this is, so it sounded sensible to me at the time, and that is what I've done the few times I've tried.