M2 Z-Axis Caps

Share your models and objects...

M2 Z-Axis Caps

Postby zemlin » Fri Mar 25, 2016 1:15 am

I'm getting ready to make some alternative build platforms and the thickness is going to vary. I wanted an easy way to offset the Z-Axis stop without having to adjust the bolt every time I swap out a built platform.

When printed with a .1mm layer, these caps provide a range of offsets from .1mm to 5.8mm by simply dropping a cap over the head of the Z-Axis stop bolt. Make sure your bed is good and level before printing these. The different thicknesses are not identified in the model. I'm going to mark them with a Sharpie before I pull them off the built platform.

https://grabcad.com/library/makergear-m2-z-axis-caps-1
Image
User avatar
zemlin
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:32 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: M2 Z-Axis Caps

Postby sTaLa » Sun May 21, 2017 3:56 am

Mmmm... why don't you just change the starting heigth from sofware using these lines? The quote below is from someone else on the forum.
Use M501 to read the EEPROM parameters,
Look for M206. (it should look something like M206 X0.0 Y0.0 Z-6.0)
You can then adjust it using M206 Z[new value]
and then M500 to save it to the firmware.

This is much easier if you just want to change the height a bit with out having to run the program and use feeler gauges. (this is not for initial setup though.)
sTaLa
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 3:01 am

Re: M2 Z-Axis Caps

Postby zemlin » Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:21 pm

At the time I posted this I was new to all this and running a REV D M2 with the switch up high. I have since moved to a REV E machine and do it all with G-Codes.
Thanks.
User avatar
zemlin
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:32 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: M2 Z-Axis Caps

Postby sTaLa » Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:33 pm

Oh that makes sense!
sTaLa
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 3:01 am


Return to Model / Object Sharing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest