My 80mm Bed Fan Mod

Show off your prints!!!
Post Reply
User avatar
zemlin
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:32 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

My 80mm Bed Fan Mod

Post by zemlin » Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:41 pm

extruderfan1.JPG
extruderfan2.JPG
extruderfan3.JPG
extruderfan4.JPG
IMG_1880.JPG
https://grabcad.com/library/makergear-m ... and-duct-1
The duct builds with the 80mm flange on the table. I made everything in PLA with .1mm layers.

User avatar
Jules
Posts: 3150
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 1:36 am

Re: My 80mm Bed Fan Mod

Post by Jules » Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:05 pm

Nice! That oughta cool it down! :D

User avatar
zemlin
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:32 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: My 80mm Bed Fan Mod

Post by zemlin » Sat Apr 02, 2016 8:24 pm

Jules wrote:Nice! That oughta cool it down! :D
It does, but my main goal was to run the fan slower for less noise.

jsc
Posts: 1863
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:00 am

Re: My 80mm Bed Fan Mod

Post by jsc » Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:15 pm

Nice model. The problem is, it turns out high CFM 80mm fans rely on moving a large volume of air at low pressure to get that CFM, which is the opposite of what you want in a ducted fan.

User avatar
zemlin
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:32 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: My 80mm Bed Fan Mod

Post by zemlin » Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:28 pm

jsc wrote:Nice model. The problem is, it turns out high CFM 80mm fans rely on moving a large volume of air at low pressure to get that CFM, which is the opposite of what you want in a ducted fan.
As I said above, my main goal was to maintain cooling with a lower RPM fan - not to increase CFM.

User avatar
pyronaught
Posts: 679
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 8:24 pm

Re: My 80mm Bed Fan Mod

Post by pyronaught » Tue Apr 05, 2016 11:11 pm

Love the color scheme. What CAD program are you using?
Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted.

User avatar
zemlin
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:32 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: My 80mm Bed Fan Mod

Post by zemlin » Wed Apr 06, 2016 5:43 pm

I use PTC Creo (aka Pro/ENGINEER) via the day job.

Post Reply