help..new owner with problems

Ask the MakerGear community for assistance...
kosal850

help..new owner with problems

Post by kosal850 » Sun May 04, 2014 3:34 am

Just recieved my m2 today. Assembled it as per the instructions. Went to power it up. Powered up for the first couple minutes. then now it wont power up. No rambo green led lit.
I measured for voltage at the rambo power connector. I get zero voltage coming out of the power supply..Im an electrician by day. So i know my way around electricity. I have a spare 24v power supply from another printer to try.
But could there be another cause of my problems. I checked all the fuses on the rambo all read good... power supply seems to be the culprit.

ok like a dummy, i just realized this is a 24v power supply and i was trying to read 12v so the power supply is good after switching my meter to 24v range. I'm still not getting any power to the rambo board it seems.

jsc

Re: help..new owner with problems

Post by jsc » Sun May 04, 2014 3:53 am

If your power supply is dead, it's dead. Contact support for a replacement, it should be covered under warranty. Doesn't sound like there was a short or anything like that, as nothing smoked, so I would just blame it on a bad supply before any further digging is warranted.

kosal850

Post by kosal850 » Sun May 04, 2014 4:00 am

ok well, i just figured out what was going on. my x endstop was triggered. so that was shutting everything down for some reason (IS THIS NORMAL????? SHOULD THE ENDSTOP SHUT EVERYTHING DOWN????? ). moved the x axis off the endstop everything came back online...

jsc

Post by jsc » Sun May 04, 2014 4:03 am

Not normal. Check the wiring on your x end stop where it goes into the Rambo, make sure it is in the correct orientation.

Run through the tests under http://makergear.wikidot.com/m2-getting-started#toc10 (and all the other sections of that document).

kosal850

Post by kosal850 » Sun May 04, 2014 4:07 am