SD card not working...

Ask the MakerGear community for assistance...
rixpix247

SD card not working...

Post by rixpix247 » Tue May 06, 2014 3:38 am

Hi again, Mr. noob here... Created g code in Simplify3d and started a print from inside Simplify3D to make sure all was printing okay first. Then I wanted to try out printing from just the SD card, so I made sure I used less than 8 alpha-numeric characters with the .g extension. No PC connected, powered M2 off, then on. Put the SD card in with the file in the root dir and pressed the little button to start the M2 printing from the SD card, but no joy. Where do I start to investigate why it taint working? Thanks in advance y'all!

jimc

Re: SD card not working...

Post by jimc » Tue May 06, 2014 3:47 am

so you have the m2 on, fans going, s3d is connected right and you can jog, turn heat on etc? you put the sd in the printer and in the machine control panel hit print from sd card and you dont get the list of files on the screen? if you put the sc card in the computer you can read it?

Tim

Post by Tim » Tue May 06, 2014 3:57 am

Uh. . . "no PC connected"? Unless you have a Viki LCD panel, you can't print without controlling it from a PC. The SD card avoids problems with slow communication over the USB cable, but it's not a one-touch print.

jsc

Post by jsc » Tue May 06, 2014 4:23 am

I think the little button you are referring to is the reset button. You need an LCD controller to print completely standalone. You kick off SD card prints from the machine control panel using the buttons on the right ("start SD print").

rixpix247

Post by rixpix247 » Tue May 06, 2014 9:07 pm

Ahhh haaa, D-OH!! The light bulb goes on! Okay, now I understand. Sorry I was thinking standalone, with just one file in the root of the SD card and then hit the print button... ;)