PLA curls very badly upon extruding

Ask the MakerGear community for assistance...
Fusion916

PLA curls very badly upon extruding

Post by Fusion916 » Tue Jul 12, 2016 7:46 am

I have been using my M2 for about 6-8 months problem free and have gone through about 6 filament reels so far. The latest reel for some reason clogged the nozzle after the 2nd print (first print went just fine). I am using the V4 hotend BTW.

It took muliple tries but I got the hot end clean after soaking it in paint thinner overnight and trying to clean out the nozzle hole with a small pair of tweezers, however now when I extrude the melted PLA comes out at a angle and curls up very badly, to the point where I basically cant print at the nozzle just cakes. Before the recent clog, the extruder used to curl up a little at the beginning of a print (for about 2-3 seconds) then it would extrude perfectly striaght afterwards for the rest of the print. Now it just continuously curls up no matter how long I extrude. Do I need try to reclean the nozzle again or have I damaged the hotend somehow? Do I need to just buy a replacement hotend or is there some kind of adjustment I can do?

thunderbt3

Re: PLA curls very badly upon extruding

Post by thunderbt3 » Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:05 pm

I don't think PLA is affected by paint thinner. Disassemble the hot end and take a propane torch to the nozzle. I usually heat mine to a dull red glow. It should reduce anything clogging the nozzle to ashes :D

Jules

Post by Jules » Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:47 pm

trying to clean out the nozzle hole with a small pair of tweezers
Generally not a good idea to do that.....it's certainly possible to damage the hole on the nozzle, but it's more likely carbon is still stuck to the nozzle inside and partially blocking it.

All you need is the replacement nozzle (not the whole hotend) and since those are PDC, (pretty damn cheap), everyone should keep a couple on hand for when things like this happen.