Initial Z Height

Ask the MakerGear community for assistance...
Post Reply
woodworker2001
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:16 pm

Initial Z Height

Post by woodworker2001 » Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:32 am

I went through the quick start guide program and everything seems to be printing very well on my new M2. I must say I am very impressed by this printer.

I am however getting a slight lip on the first layer of my prints. From what I have read it seems as though my initial z height is too close to the bed. Does this seem right? How do I readjust that? Do I just use the quick start app again or is there another way to just tweak this number slightly?

Thanks
Dan

3dPrintingMD
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:37 am

Re: Initial Z Height

Post by 3dPrintingMD » Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:13 pm

There is a way to fix this easily.

At the terminal, M503.

Look for the Z # that is generated. Write it down.

Subtract .01 - .03 from the number.

M206 ZX.XX
M500 ZX.XX

That will change to the new number, and then save it to memory.

On a Rev E machine, making the number higher, brings the nozzle and bed closer, subtracting does the opposite.
M2 - V4, MIC-6 Build Plate, Astrosyn Damper's(X/Y), Rev. E, Geeetech LCD

S3D - FFF Settings https://forum.simplify3d.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2367
Print Quality Troubleshooting https://www.simplify3d.com/support/prin ... eshooting/

woodworker2001
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:16 pm

Re: Initial Z Height

Post by woodworker2001 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:48 pm

Thanks for the reply, but I am not following.... I am very new to all of this. I am using Simplify3D.

Not sure where to get to this M code and see the numbers generated.

The bottom of my prints is squeezing out and printing with a lip on the bottom couple of layers.

3dPrintingMD
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 5:37 am

Re: Initial Z Height

Post by 3dPrintingMD » Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:34 pm

In the machine control panel in S3D, then goto the terminal.

You can enter the commands there.
M2 - V4, MIC-6 Build Plate, Astrosyn Damper's(X/Y), Rev. E, Geeetech LCD

S3D - FFF Settings https://forum.simplify3d.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2367
Print Quality Troubleshooting https://www.simplify3d.com/support/prin ... eshooting/

User avatar
zemlin
Posts: 461
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:32 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Initial Z Height

Post by zemlin » Fri Dec 23, 2016 7:31 pm

Another option is to go to the G-CODE tab in S3d and enter a small negative offset on the z Axis.

ksevcik
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 1:07 am
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Initial Z Height

Post by ksevcik » Sat Dec 24, 2016 4:15 am

zemlin wrote:Another option is to go to the G-CODE tab in S3d and enter a small negative offset on the z Axis.
I do this. As long as you're consistent about how you level the bed and set your initial Z height, you can use this method to adjust for any difference between the height you set with the feeler and the height you actually need to run at to get adhesion without over-squishing the first layer. Plus every filament type will be a bit different anyways since the bed and extruder temps are different.

woodworker2001
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:16 pm

Re: Initial Z Height

Post by woodworker2001 » Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:20 pm

I finally found this link. It is a great easy way to reset the initial Z height

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4et2bvwry3bc ... J5-Ja?dl=0

User avatar
zemlin
Posts: 461
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:32 pm
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Initial Z Height

Post by zemlin » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:07 pm

woodworker2001 wrote:
Fri Jan 04, 2019 8:20 pm
I finally found this link. It is a great easy way to reset the initial Z height

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4et2bvwry3bc ... J5-Ja?dl=0
Can you explain what's going on here? Not about to click on a link with no explanation behind it.

Post Reply