M3 Dual + Simplify 3D = Second head can't print?

Ask the MakerGear community for assistance...
Post Reply
caffeinated22
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 7:14 pm

M3 Dual + Simplify 3D = Second head can't print?

Post by caffeinated22 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 7:35 pm

Hey guys,

I just got my M3 Independent Dual and I want to print using the second head. It works just fine if I slice the .STL in Octorprint but as soon as I do anything it in Simplify3D (which I need to do to rotate and alter quality settings) it won't work.

As soon as everything heats up, the left head moves all the way to the right, effectively blocking the right head so that when it comes across it just crashes into the left.

The settings are:

Profile: M2 Dual (No M3 option yet apparently)
Auto-Figure Extruders: Right Extruder Only

Explorer74
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 5:02 pm

Re: M3 Dual + Simplify 3D = Second head can't print?

Post by Explorer74 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 12:36 pm

There are Simplify3D profiles and factory files for the MakerGear M3ID. Check the MakerGear wiki or e-mail support. They are very helpful. I have been having a blast with mine :)

caffeinated22
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2017 7:14 pm

Re: M3 Dual + Simplify 3D = Second head can't print?

Post by caffeinated22 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 12:48 pm

Explorer74 wrote:There are Simplify3D profiles and factory files for the MakerGear M3ID. Check the MakerGear wiki or e-mail support. They are very helpful. I have been having a blast with mine :)
Yeah. Thanks. Got that profile handled now but I’m still having this issue. Can’t figure it out.

Explorer74
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 5:02 pm

Re: M3 Dual + Simplify 3D = Second head can't print?

Post by Explorer74 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:45 pm

It sounds like the M3 is trying to park or zero the T1 head with the T0 commands. You should call or e-mail MakerGear support. They are very helpful. My M3 works fine for both 2 color and one color with T1 for support. You might also look at the Start script and the Tool Change script in Simplify3D. When my printer first starts it zeros everything, lifts the table, the T1 extruder runs a bead of filament from left to right across the very front of the table, and then the T0 extruder runs a bead of filament from right to left on top of that. I would suggest you clear out Simplify3D, reset all settings in the help menu, then reload the new profiles for the M3ID.

Good luck

User avatar
Tim
Posts: 1205
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 2:19 pm
Location: Poolesville, Maryland
Contact:

Re: M3 Dual + Simplify 3D = Second head can't print?

Post by Tim » Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:01 am

Agreed. The M2 Dual profile is *not* going to work for the M3 Dual without the proper initialization and tool change scripts to drive the two X axis motors independently. I don't even know how MakerGear is driving the second X axis motor, because (as far as I know, but my information is likely way out of date since I've been using a Smoothie board for the last couple of years) the stock Marlin firmware doesn't even support more than one X axis motor, since the RAMBo doesn't have enough motor drivers to support it. I know that MakerGear put extra hardware on the M3 to add another stepper driver, so they have done something special to their firmware to support that. Simplify3D is definitely not going to know about such things, and it is going to be handled in the scripts using codes probably known only to the M3 Dual firmware. Looking at the M3ID zip file of profiles, it looks like if you are using both extruders on the same print, you want to go to the "scripts" tab in the profile settings and make sure that the start script says on the first comment line "Both Extruders M3ID T0/T1 starting script T1 purges first T0 purges second".

(Edit)

Looks like MakerGear has implemented some version of code "M605", "M605 S0 ; set to full independent control on X axes". The tool change script just switches between T0 and T1, so apparently the firmware is set up so that (with M605 S0) the X-axis motors switch at the same time the extruder motors do.

Unfortunately the state of gcode and firmware right now doesn't support doing different things with both extruder motors and both X axis motors at the same time. Whoever can get that working will have one hell of a fast dual printer.

jk42
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 5:19 pm

Re: M3 Dual + Simplify 3D = Second head can't print?

Post by jk42 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:28 pm

Just wanted to let everybody know that you can get the M3 and M3ID profiles for S3D on our M3 Knowledge Base. There are also some articles and videos on Dual color printing.
https://makergear.zendesk.com/hc/en-us
~Jason from MakerGear

JESSEb
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:59 pm

Re: M3 Dual + Simplify 3D = Second head can't print?

Post by JESSEb » Fri Feb 01, 2019 9:37 pm

I just bought a m3-id as my first printer, just started printing yesterday.
Coming from cnc mills I'm having a tough time not seeing the g code run, but i think i figured out this issue from a code point of view.

To re iterate:
Problem: T1 print head slams into T0 head after resetting extrusion height with G92 E0 ( probing height).
T0 needs to be activated for probing, but simplify 3d settings are all set to right extruder T1, the code does not call out T0 for probing, but with G92 E0 the machines knows to use T0 not T1.
After probing The code does not home T0 and switch to T1
So T1 gets called up and T0 is in the way, and CLACK...

SOLUTION: HAND EDIT THE CODE ( or modify the post processor to insert this on a tool change)

(original post from simplify 3d)
G90
M82
M106 S0
M140 S70
M190 S70
M104 S0 T0
M104 S215 T1
M109 S215 T1
M605 S0 ; set x-carriage mode to independent control ( what is m605 s0 doing exactly? )
T1 ; Switch to right extruder ( pointless tool change becasue still needs to probe with T0)
G28 ; home all axes
G1 X210 Y40 Z0.1 F10000 ; go to wait position
G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance ( I believe this is probing?)
G1 X195 F5000 ; scrape off any ooze from heating ( this is still T0 not T1, becasue no tool change after probing)
(purge/prime/wipe passes)
G1 Z7 ; move the bed down to avoid collision
G1 X40 Y6 F10000 ; move toolhead to the unused front edge
G1 Z0.20 F1000 ; move bed to prime start position
G1 X160 E10 F1000 ; prime the nozzle
G1 X170 Z0.05 F5000 ; quick wipe
G1 Z7 Y20 ; move the tool away to start printing
; process Process1
; layer 1, Z = 0.156
T1
G92 E0.0000
G1 E-2.0000 F6000
; feature skirt
; tool H0.156 W0.400
G1 Z0.156 F1200
G1 X82.308 Y116.842 F18000 ( bang?)

SOLUTION:

G90
M82
M106 S0
M140 S70
M190 S70
M104 S0 T0
M104 S215 T1
M109 S215 T1
T0
M605 S0 ; set x-carriage mode to independent control

T0 (-EDIT-CHANGED TO "T0" FROM "T1" FOR PROBING ;)

G28 ; home all axes
G1 X210 Y40 Z0.1 F10000 ; go to wait position

G92 E0 ; reset extrusion distance ( AUTO HEIGHT PROBING)

(EDIT START)

T0 ( CALL UP "T0" BE SURE CORRECT HEAD IS COMMANDED)
G1 X-25 F18000; maker sure t0 is parked ( THIS IS THE PARKED LOCATION FOR T0)
T1 ( TOOL CHANGE TO T1)

(EDIT STOP)

(NOW T1 SHOULD BE DOING EVERYTHING FROM THIS POINT ON)

G1 X195 F5000 ; scrape off any ooze from heating
G1 Z7 ; move the bed down to avoid collision
G1 X40 Y6 F10000 ; move toolhead to the unused front edge
G1 Z0.20 F1000 ; move bed to prime start position
G1 X160 E10 F1000 ; prime the nozzle
G1 X170 Z0.05 F5000 ; quick wipe
G1 Z7 Y20 ; move the tool away to start printing
; process Process1
; layer 1, Z = 0.156
T1
G92 E0.0000
G1 E-2.0000 F6000
; feature skirt
; tool H0.156 W0.400
G1 Z0.156 F1200
G1 X82.308 Y116.842 F18000


Hope this helps.
If their is a better solution please let me know.

On a side note, does anyone know where there is a list of makergear or 3d printer specific g codes to decipher?
Anyway to view the gcode live as the machine is running?

- Jesse

Post Reply