Questions and thoughts from a newbie

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
SouthSideofdaSky

Questions and thoughts from a newbie

Post by SouthSideofdaSky » Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:16 pm

My department at work recently purchased an M2 to evaluate potential applications for 3D printing within the department and company. Our M2 arrived a couple days ago and I've spent a few hours getting it set up and running. The documentation that came with the M2 was very helpful overall, as well as the information available online. However I have a couple of questions and thoughts (as a disclaimer, I am very new to this whole 3D printing thing. I knew almost nothing about it until I was asked to start researching it a month or so ago).

- I really like the labels on the bags and in the pictures included in the instructions. For instance I never would have guessed that what looks like a popsicle stick to me is actually the same thing as the "applicator stick" referred to in the documentation. Is there any place online where I can see a similar diagram with different parts of the actual printer labeled? Some of the instructions on the "M2 getting started" page on the Makergear wiki were confusing for me to follow because I was not sure where to locate a specific component. For example "Once you have confirmed that all axes respond correctly, it is time to check the endstops. First activate each endstop by hand, by pressing on the silver lever until it clicks." I am not sure what "silver levers" are being referred to. So...like any good engineer I just skipped that step :P . I did use the jog tools in Pronterface to make sure that everything seemed to be working correctly, and my first print (the sample bracelet piece) turned out great. However I would like to understand the setup steps for future reference...can anyone shed a little more light on the hand endstop checks for me or point me to a link where I could learn more?