M2 Purchasing Itinerary

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
Bluesoulx12

M2 Purchasing Itinerary

Post by Bluesoulx12 » Sat Jul 12, 2014 9:47 pm

Hey All,
Figured I would ask the community about purchasing options for the M2.

Background:
I am a recent mechanical engineering grad and wanted to start working on some patent work for myself. I've researched a ton of different printers and I have decided that the M2 is the only one to fit all my needs. I am a nerd so that totally helps.
I have both a high end PC and Mac, but would prefer to be able to print without connecting to the PC( kind of wirelessly and without an SD card if something like that exists).

My 3D software is Catia V5 so that should be fine for .stl support I assume.

I would also like to keep the M2 running with little down time so spare part recommendations would be highly appreciated.

Big Question(s):
I would like to know what I should buy along with the printer. Such as replacement parts, software packages, upgrades/mods, if I should buy pre-built or not, quantities of equipment, extras (I think I read somewhere on the forums about hairspray?) , accessories, etc.

Goal:
Create a complete cart to which I can just buy all at one shot instead of going back and forth ordering parts and what not.

Thanks in advance!

Chris Nieves

Dale Reed

Re: M2 Purchasing Itinerary

Post by Dale Reed » Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:45 pm

Bluesouix12,

I'll start, but this won't be complete....

1. Be sure to order a spool of ABS filament (black works nicely) for printing spares of the printed parts. All the M2 printed part files are available on github (jin or jimc, could you help with the link?). There are also several accessories (tool holders, SD card holders, Z-know stays, electronics enclosures, etc., etc.) and "improved" parts on Thingiverse (e.g., search this forum for rsilvers filament drive, this is one popular item).