Printing from SD card

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
Explorer71

Printing from SD card

Post by Explorer71 » Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:39 pm

I'm new to 3D printing and love my M2. I usually print from an SD card. The advertisement says the M2 can be used alone without being connected to a PC, but it seems you have to be connected to Simplify3D to start printing from an SD card. So my question is: once the print is started, can I turn off the PC/disconnect from the printer, or just go about doing something else for hours while it prints?

Dale Reed

Re: Printing from SD card

Post by Dale Reed » Fri Jul 25, 2014 5:16 pm

Most folks have no issues with taking the PC and doing something else. I have found that in order to disconnect the PC from the M2 while an SDCard print is running, without interrupting it, I have to unplug the USB cable. If I disconnect "nicely" --- if I remove the RAMBo using the "Safely Remove Hardware" icon in the system tray, or if I do a clean shutdown of the PC, or if I click "Disconnect" in the S3D machine control panel, the USB protocol does a "disconnect" with the Rambo, which in my case RESETS it (as if I had cycled the AC power off and on), which powers down all the motors, drops the bed, loses "home" position reference, turns off heat, etc., etc.

So I would try this: start the SD Card print, and once it's going along, unplug the USB cable from the M2. Should keep right on printing, and you can go do whatever you want with your PC.

Feel free to try one of the "clean" disconnects and let us know if your SDCard print keeps on humming or if it stops/resets. May have been fixed in later firmware... but at least there's the "unplug the cable" method.
Dale

Josh
Site Admin

Post by Josh » Fri Jul 25, 2014 5:19 pm