Still considering buying the M2

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
abovetheline

Still considering buying the M2

Post by abovetheline » Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:45 am

I am new to 3d printing but have been researching it for a year. I have a drafting business and want to be able to show a 3d representation of interior and exterior architectural layouts. Can this printer do that well? How do you estimate your cost in a print? What additional software will I need other than AutoCAD? Anything else I need to consider before purchase? Thanks in advance!

Levi8than

Re: Still considering buying the M2

Post by Levi8than » Sat Aug 16, 2014 9:12 am

Autocad will output STL files, which you can then import into a slicer program.

The open source toolchain uses slic3r and pronterface. They're good tools, but will requires a lot of tweaking on your part to make them work.

Makergear pushes the Simplify3d product (S3d). It costs 140 for an individual user license, and is a lot easier to use than slic3r with much clearer results. I bought my printer in February and stuck to the open source tool chain until about a week ago. I broke down because I was fed up with the quality of the supports generated by slic3r. I can't really complain, it's a free tool. Very impressive for what started as one man's pet project. But after a few days of tinkering with S3d, I'm hooked. This tool slices very quickly, provides a 3d graphic interface to the plater, and allows custom support placement. Once you've sliced your design with it and generated gcode (what the machine reads), S3d will provide you with an estimated print time and print cost based on a $/kg value that you enter in the options box. Most small trinkets use a trivial amount of plastic, less than $1 worth. The biggest print I've considered printing yet was estimated at 36 hours of print time and around $10 worth of plastic. ... I haven't brought myself to try printing it yet, though. :)