Kapton 'Polyamide' Tape - What's the skinny?

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
MakerMike7

Kapton 'Polyamide' Tape - What's the skinny?

Post by MakerMike7 » Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:41 am

As a first week newbie I'm having great luck with PLA. However I need some white parts and ordered ABS White with my printer. I've seen the prep on Kapton tape but had a few questions?

1) How much usage can the tape take (parts over time) etc... before it needs to be replaced?
2) Is it hard to remove once many parts have been printed?... I.E. I just ordered some more glass as I figured I'd have one for PLA, A Kapton coated one for ABS and maybe a separate one if I get into Nylon.
or, Can I get away with applying it when needed and removing when not....

I saw the 70C recommendation for PLA with Kapton, but I having such great luck with bare glass & Aquanet... honestly I only need the Kapton for ABS

jimc

Re: Kapton 'Polyamide' Tape - What's the skinny?

Post by jimc » Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:31 am

you only need kapton for the abs. you need a light coating of melted abs in acetone to put on the kapton. the regular thin kapton tape i found it be pretty much good for one print. after that just yank it and put fresh down. there is kapton out there that is much thicker and last for many prints but its rather expensive. i think it was close to 35-40 bucks a sheet. it just takes a min to swap it out. when taking my prints off the bed it always gets damaged somehow. if it doesnt then you can reuse. for the most part though i print abs on hairspray. if i have a part i need max hold with then i move to the kapton.

jsc

Post by jsc » Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:37 am

I've found Kapton to be less useful than a stick of Elmer's. Although jimc has had a different experience, so your mileage may vary....

jimc

Post by jimc » Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:50 pm