How to cool filament faster/How do tighter tolerances

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
Cyber_Gram

How to cool filament faster/How do tighter tolerances

Post by Cyber_Gram » Tue Sep 29, 2015 4:42 pm

Hello, I am fairly new to the MakerGear M2 (I've had it for 3-4 weeks), and 3D Printing in general. I am trying to print a platform jack (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:925556) and a wrench (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:139268). I am having problems with the different pieces getting fused together. I am currently printing with 190C Nozzle, 70C Bed (With Hairspray), and Hatchbox PLA. I am printing with the 50mm fan on at 100% after the first 2 layers, and I have installed a shroud (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:773095). I am using Slic3r and Pronterface, but I am upgrading to S3D within a week or so. My nozzle is the stock 0.35mm.

Here are my travel rate settings:

Also, how long does it take for PLA to go too bad to use from moisture? I am in a moister (Probably 40-50% humidity) environment.

Thanks for the help,
Cyber_Gram

Jules

Re: How to cool filament faster/How do tighter tolerances

Post by Jules » Tue Sep 29, 2015 5:20 pm

Both of those files are designed with hidden internal support that does create some fusion. They are supposed to be twisted or cut with a sharp knife to remove the support and allow the parts to move freely. (Check the descriptions.) Any of the "fully assembled" models you see on Thingiverse are likely to have that support in there.