New to all this... Looking to network

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
Jadedwarlord

New to all this... Looking to network

Post by Jadedwarlord » Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:37 pm

Hello world!

I am a brand new member to the forum, though I have been reading through the threads for the last few weeks. After much research, I have decided to take the plunge and purchase a MakerGear M2 as my first 3D printer. I have a Bachelor's Degree in computer programming, and was a Java developer for a few years after college. As a hobby, I have enjoyed 3D computer modeling in Autocad and Blender for video game modding (mostly in Elder Scrolls: Oblivion). I have also always enjoyed tinkering with welding, carpentry, and some rudimentary metal smithing and casting. Using this diverse interest background, I plan on breaking into the 3D printing scene and trying to earn a little profit on the side if I can... In addition to my own myriad of tinkering projects.

I was hoping to start networking with other, more experienced 3D printing aficionados. At first, I will just be learning the ropes... But later I hope to find some sort of economic niche to occupy in this field. Anyone have any ideas on where to start looking / advertising my future services? I look forward to chatting with all of you and breaking into this exciting new field!

Jules

Re: New to all this... Looking to network

Post by Jules » Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:17 am

Welcome to the group warlord. :D

No help with the sales unfortunately - i just do this for fun. But I can tell you that when you start posting examples of your designs to Thingiverse, if they are in any way commercially viable, you'll be swamped with offers to sell the designs on every competing site on the planet. (Dozens of them.) So it's a good stepping off point if you're into that sort of thing. :D