computer crashes

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
psd

computer crashes

Post by psd » Wed Mar 09, 2016 3:23 am

Hello.
I am a newbie and after having set up my M2 with the quick start app without a glitch, I then began to load a simple STL in the simplify3D from my macbook pro and sent to print.
The first one crashed right after laying the raft layer. My whole computer shutdown and rebooted (which has never happened to me before).

I tried again and - same thing, but had to run disc repair because the disk was reading as damaged.
I am thinking about installing the software on a newer macbookpro in studio to test, but a bit worried.

I have a few questions:
1.could this have been from the M2 or simplify3D?

2. what can I do? How can I figure out the root of the problem? anyone else experience a system crash?

3. when the project gets interrupted what should I do?
shut down the machine?
lower the build plate manually and scrape off the material and try to start over?
or is there a way to resume build from where it left off?

thanks,
Peter
- peter,

innovative product designer and tinkerer

www.petersolomondesign.com

jimc

Re: computer crashes

Post by jimc » Wed Mar 09, 2016 4:53 am

peter, once the build is interrupted in most cases you just start over. the m2 has nothing to do with your computer so it cant cause any crash. the issue would be with s3d. i have been running s3d on mac for 3 years now and i find it to be extremely stable. more so on osx than on windows. in most cases i have found s3d crashes due to out of date or incompatible graphics drivers. not saying thats the issue here but i would probably start by uninstalling it and reinstalling a fresh download.

wmgeorge

Post by wmgeorge » Wed Mar 09, 2016 2:54 pm

I have printed from my Mac Book Pro and it works fine. You don't want to be running another program in the background and letting it update programs while your printing.
Retired Master Electrician, Commercial HVAC/R,CNC Router