S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
Kirk.AIA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:17 am

Re: S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Post by Kirk.AIA » Wed Mar 23, 2016 1:16 am

Here's what I get with the switch closed... Y_min: TRIGGERED
M119.JPG
And then open...Y_min:open
M119 open.JPG
M119 open.JPG (21.62 KiB) Viewed 5775 times
What does it mean?

The bed will move full forward with the jog controls in S3D. It travels all the way to the stop.
But it will not do it while printing. Doesn't seem like a hardware issue in that the machine bed moves nicely when manually controlled.
Is there something with a process file that could be causing S3D to limit the travel of the M2 bed? I don't readily see anything.
What about the S3D machine profile? I have it on "Makergear M2 (24V V4 hotend)" which should be correct.
Perhaps some Incompatibility issues between the Rev. E machine and S3D?
Just spitballin'.

User avatar
PcS
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 12:19 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Post by PcS » Wed Mar 23, 2016 1:35 am

When you home all in s3d control panel do you still hear a grinding ? When you start a print does the machine home all axis correctly before a print start ?

Kirk.AIA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:17 am

Re: S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Post by Kirk.AIA » Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:15 am

No grinding at all and the machine homes everything as it should.
I'd like to find a large .g file produced by another slicer other than S3D that I can print from an SD card to see if S3D is the issue.

Kirk.AIA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:17 am

Re: S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Post by Kirk.AIA » Wed Mar 23, 2016 5:49 am

I've discovered the problem finally.
Nothing but a simple case of me not being very observant.
I now have use of the full length of the bed in the Y-axis.
Thanks for all your help.

jsc
Posts: 1863
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:00 am

Re: S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Post by jsc » Wed Mar 23, 2016 6:46 am

Aw, you can't do that. Let us know what the issue was!

User avatar
PcS
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 12:19 pm
Location: Michigan

Re: S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Post by PcS » Wed Mar 23, 2016 11:49 am

Yes you must post your solution or risk being banned forever !!!! ;) The contract you signed when you joined the forum clearly states that !!!! :o

Kirk.AIA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:17 am

Re: S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Post by Kirk.AIA » Wed Mar 23, 2016 1:29 pm

It's a little embarrassing that I didn't notice this initially. I wasn't thinking in 3D and only considered the components below the bed. I don't remember the setup instructions mentioning this, it may have, but if the clips at the top (back) edge of the glass aren't parallel with the Y-axis, they will hit the screws that extend below the top X rail. Rather idiotic I couldn't see what was right in front of me.

User avatar
sthone
Posts: 871
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:25 pm
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Re: S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Post by sthone » Wed Mar 23, 2016 1:53 pm

I few of use have learned that the hard way during the testing phase. I'm surprised there isn't a note about that in the new manual as I know someone mentioned it in the testing thread.

Glad you have it figured out though.
____________________________________________________
See my projects at https://www.theneverendingprojectslist.com

User avatar
Neep
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:07 am

Re: S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Post by Neep » Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:12 pm

This is probably a dumb question, but why do you even need the clips? To keep the glass plate from slipping?

On mine I just removed them and have had no issues. Of course now I print on a Zebra plate...

Hugs
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2016 11:16 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: S3D virtual machine does not match M2 Bed

Post by Hugs » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:25 am

Neep wrote:This is probably a dumb question, but why do you even need the clips?
Not at all a dumb question to me...I thought the same thing. But if you read the Rev. E manual, it only mentions them on page 5:
REMOVE & READ THE WARNING SHEET from underneath your borosilicate glass bed by removing the binder clips. Then secure the bed to the HBP using the bed hold-down clips on each corner of your bed.
I'm guessing they're just for security during shipping now.

Post Reply