Rev. E using Simplify3D

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
Sensei

Rev. E using Simplify3D

Post by Sensei » Wed Apr 27, 2016 3:04 pm

Hello!

OK I'm new to printing (sigh). I went through the bed calibration using the included startup software. The bracelet printed flawlessly. I then took a model of my own design, prepared is using Simplify3D, then printed it using all default configurations via the SD card route. That part also printed flawlessly. Note that I did not clean the bed prior to printing these parts.

On printing my 3rd part (own design), I started having issues. I cleaned the bed with windex while the bed was warm, which appeared clean well and nearly instantly dried off. From this point, I've had problems with the first layer sticking well in all places, causing the print to go haywire and draw up to the nozzle. I've also noticed that prior to the print, the head moves outside the range of the print bed (to the right) and spits out about 8-10 inches of material. So from this, I have two sets of questions:

1) Is it likely that the windex damaged the adhesion qualities of the print surface (yellow layer)? Should I have cleaned with alcohol also? Are additional adhesives (glue stick, hairspray, etc.) still necessary with the yellow layer that comes on revision E? The bed was set to 70c - will increased temperatures improve adhesion?

2) Is the 8-10 inches of extruded material off the print bed normal and part of a good printing process? Are there other obvious Simplify3D features I should adjust?

Thanks!

classicvideogamer

Re: Rev. E using Simplify3D

Post by classicvideogamer » Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:23 am

I'm pretty new to this too, but I can answer this part at least - Yes this is normal.
2) Is the 8-10 inches of extruded material off the print bed normal and part of a good printing process? Are there other obvious Simplify3D features I should adjust?

Jules

Post by Jules » Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:28 am

Sensei wrote:Hello!