3d Max model issues

Have questions or comments about Simplify3D, Slic3r, Cura, Reptier, etc? Or wondering about which CAD software to use...discuss it here...
naturalstate720

3d Max model issues

Post by naturalstate720 » Tue Nov 10, 2015 3:46 pm

I'm very new to 3d printing, but have been using 3d software for a few years. I'm trying to print a 20 story high rise building at 1/16 scale. I realize I'll probably need to split it in two and glue it together at that scale. Is this the wrong place to ask a question like this?

I just exported from 3dmax as stl and imported into 3d simplfiy. I expected I'd probably have issues. And am wondering if I should just model the entire thing again. Originally the model was for renderings and construction drawings. I honestly probably didn't model the thing that well, it's been years since I've done this and was in a time crunch just to have some low qualify paper printed renderings.

After import into 3d simplify, the boolean holes for a few hundred windows are having issues. The balconies that I just redrew to larger to print (originally it was glass so very thin) are fine on one side of the building, but hollowish looking on the other side. I'm assuming this is because I mirrored it as an instance in max. Bad way to do it? Both main walls with windows were made in the same way doing one large edit mesh attached boolean for 120 windows at once out of edit mesh box.

I'm having trouble finding a good guide for complex model prepping for printing and or guide on starting over and modeling it the right way with the end product of printing it. I wonder if I should just start over and remodel.

Thanks for any advice

jimc

Re: 3d Max model issues

Post by jimc » Wed Nov 11, 2015 12:05 am