Anyone using Mattercontrol?

Have questions or comments about Simplify3D, Slic3r, Cura, Reptier, etc? Or wondering about which CAD software to use...discuss it here...
helifrek

Anyone using Mattercontrol?

Post by helifrek » Sat Dec 05, 2015 6:42 pm

While browsing around I found something called the Mattercontrol Touch which is an Android tablet running a mobile version of mattercontrol. I have been looking at Astroprint and octoprint for awhile but had never heard of mattercontrol, and the touch allows you to slice and print remotely. I have never used mattercontrol before, I just downloaded it to give it a go but wanted to see if anyone else had experience with it before I tried it!
I have Simplify3D right now and I love it but I really need the ability to monitor prints remotely and I am not sure which the best route to take is.

Thanks
Brandon

PcS

Re: Anyone using Mattercontrol?

Post by PcS » Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:18 pm

I have tried matter control . I found it to be good software but if you have simplify 3d you already have the best IMHO. I try everything I can get my hands on BTW. Octoprint IMHO is also the best for monitoring prints remotely and controlling them. It is low in cost easy to setup .

helifrek

Post by helifrek » Sat Dec 05, 2015 9:15 pm

I tried to use octoprint on a Raspi at one point in time but I could never quite get it figured out. I wanted to be able to check on my printer remotely via a webcam and have the ability to turn the printer off remotely if a print was to fail. Slicing remotely and starting a print remotely isn't as big of a deal to me.

I love S3D but if I was to get that mattercontrol touch, I would want to get a little familiar with mattercontrol. Also I read up on the automatic/manual be leveling where you can use a piece of paper (if you don't have sensors installed) to be able to kind of get auto bed leveling, which in my case I have a low spot in my glass which would hopefully help out that issue.