How to set up Octopi?

Have questions or comments about Simplify3D, Slic3r, Cura, Reptier, etc? Or wondering about which CAD software to use...discuss it here...
Post Reply
shinigami
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:21 pm

How to set up Octopi?

Post by shinigami » Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:26 pm

Hi,

I am new to the Makergear M2 so forgive what is probably a basic question. I've installed Octopi on a Raspberry 2 and I have it working. But I am not sure how to set it up for the Makergear M2. Do I need to install a plug-in? Or just create a printer profile? If I just have to create a profile, can someone send me what the entries should be? Thank you.

User avatar
jimc
Posts: 2888
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 11:30 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact:

Re: How to set up Octopi?

Post by jimc » Sun Apr 24, 2016 5:14 am

You really dont have to do anything other than choose the com port. You just click connect, drag and drop your gcode in the window, heat it up and press print.

petej
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:27 pm

Re: How to set up Octopi?

Post by petej » Sun Apr 24, 2016 8:03 pm

Here's my Octopi Settings screen (I have a dual-extruder machine. If you have one extruder, adjust the last two settings.):
Attachments
Octoprint M2 Settings.jpg
Last edited by petej on Thu Apr 28, 2016 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Vandal968
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 4:30 am

Re: How to set up Octopi?

Post by Vandal968 » Sun Apr 24, 2016 11:33 pm

What Jim said, and also set the baud rate 115200 IIRC. cheers, c

User avatar
Neep
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 12:07 am

Re: How to set up Octopi?

Post by Neep » Fri Apr 29, 2016 7:58 am

petej wrote:Here's my Octopi Settings screen (I have a dual-extruder machine. If you have one extruder, adjust the last two settings.):
Shouldn't the volume be X = 200mm (technically 203), Y=250mm (technically 254), and Z = 200mm (technically 203)? Did you shorten Y to account for the clips? Is that why you have 170mm?

I just got a Raspberry Pi 3 - Model B and got Octopi running on it (with a static IP over wireless, which was kind of a pain to figure out but once you know what to do is not hard), and since I removed the clips and am using a Zebra plate I put the above numbers in. Of course I slice the G code with Simplify3D anyway so not sure it matters or not... anyone know?

User avatar
jimc
Posts: 2888
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 11:30 pm
Location: mullica, nj
Contact:

Re: How to set up Octopi?

Post by jimc » Fri Apr 29, 2016 12:01 pm

Yeah if your slicing with s3d or another slicer then bringing your files into octoprint then you dont need any of that. none of those setting that pete posted a pic of are needed. set your baud rate and port then start printing.

MG-Scott
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 10:14 pm

Re: How to set up Octopi?

Post by MG-Scott » Fri Apr 29, 2016 2:41 pm

For anyone setting up Octoprint for the first time, I suggest increasing the wait time on the communication settings. The communication timeout in one of the older OctoPi images was set very low. It can take nearly 30 seconds in some cases during a power failure or restart to reestablish communication. I believe the default was 5 seconds.
octo-settings.png
Octoprint communications settings
Jimc is right, there are no other settings that would make for bad prints. You might want to try another USB cable if printing is suffering running from you RPi over USB.

Post Reply