Filament Extrude & Retract Macros for S3D?

Have questions or comments about Simplify3D, Slic3r, Cura, Reptier, etc? Or wondering about which CAD software to use...discuss it here...
Gwhite

Filament Extrude & Retract Macros for S3D?

Post by Gwhite » Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:29 am

I'm just getting started with a new M2. When I first set it up, the "getting started" software walked you through loading filament, and sent the printer an extrude command to get the filament fed into the extruder.

I want to switch spools, and the Wiki says to "retract the filament". No indication ANYWHERE as to whether this is a software command, (and if so, where to find it) or brute force yanking the filament out. I searched all over, and couldn't find anything on the LCD interface, or in Simplify3D, so I heated up the hot end, powered it off & yanked.

Now, I want to put in a new filament, which means I need to tell it to extrude some amount once I get the hot end up to temperature. Without firing up the "getting started" routine again, I've got no apparent way to do that, short of learning G-code.

How do people deal with this? These are really basic operations, and I can't find any useful info on how to do them in the MakerGear or Simplify3D forums, the Wiki, etc.

From what I can tell, it should be possible to write a couple macros to do this in S3D. The last time I did G-code, it was on a paper-tape driven CNC mill 40 years ago, so I'm a bit rusty.

Can somebody point me to a good reference on basic G-code commands for the M2, or take pity on me & throw together a few commands I can get started with?

Thanks!

(Apologies if I seem a little testy. This has been a very frustrating evening...)

sthone

Re: Filament Extrude & Retract Macros for S3D?

Post by sthone » Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:30 am

Patience is a virtue when it comes to 3D printing... your not going to be able to do everything you want to the first night of running it's definitely a learning experience.