What's a good CAD software to start with?

Have questions or comments about Simplify3D, Slic3r, Cura, Reptier, etc? Or wondering about which CAD software to use...discuss it here...
Merad

What's a good CAD software to start with?

Post by Merad » Wed Jun 18, 2014 12:57 am

In my previous life as an engineering student I learned CATIA, so I have a tiny bit of experience (with 10 years of cobwebs hanging over it). I downloaded AutoCAD, but frankly it's overwhelming, even searching for tutorials online I can barely figure out where to begin. Is there something out there that's easier to learn that is suitable for designing printable parts? I have eligibility for academic licensing/purchasing, so cost isn't a huge factor.

jimc

Re: What's a good CAD software to start with?

Post by jimc » Wed Jun 18, 2014 2:36 am

there are many options out there but if your looking for an easy but full featured and professional software for making objects for 3d printing then you really cant go wrong with rhino..... especially if you can get an education discount. i have turned many people on to it and everyone has loved it. infinite skills has a whole easy to follow video tutorial set for it as well. its not parametric and there is no relationship between parts which makes it great for parts but not for assemblies. basically its a little less of an engineering software and more for consumer products so perfect for the things we make on our 3d printers. its good with more complex surfaces. things like that. if your on a mac then its free while in development. for a pc its about $1k but education just over $100. its a steal if you can get it for that!

sshwarts

Post by sshwarts » Wed Jun 18, 2014 12:52 pm