S3D Slicing Issue

Have questions or comments about Simplify3D, Slic3r, Cura, Reptier, etc? Or wondering about which CAD software to use...discuss it here...
Post Reply
CCRN
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 6:15 pm

S3D Slicing Issue

Post by CCRN » Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:45 am

I pulled up an old stl I created from OpenSCAD and when I am slicing it in the latest Mac version, the output shows perimeters missing. The results are not right and I am not sure what is going on. Would someone mind taking a look a the STL?. It slices fine in Slic3r, just not in S3D.
Screen Shot 2018-08-09 at 6.44.46 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-08-09 at 6.44.30 PM.png
Fentanyl16_Prod.stl
(36.64 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

Thanks,

Jerold

User avatar
Larry
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 12:02 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: S3D Slicing Issue

Post by Larry » Fri Aug 10, 2018 2:25 am

Hmm .. yea .. I get similar results as you (S3D 4.0.1 on a Windows machine). I just however get one shorter cross piece vs. the two shown in your attachment.

- Larry

airscapes
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:36 pm

Re: S3D Slicing Issue

Post by airscapes » Fri Aug 10, 2018 3:54 am

First go to repair and check the model for errors
Next if these are thin walls, go to advance tab and turn set allow single extrude wall and allow single extrude infill and then slice

CCRN
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 6:15 pm

Re: S3D Slicing Issue

Post by CCRN » Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:28 pm

Checked for errors and did not find any. Not seeing the thin wall settings in settings in Advanced except for only use perimeters for thin walls. I tried that and it did not help.

Just did an update check on my computer and realized it is using an outdated S3D. Downloading now.
Screen Shot 2018-08-12 at 8.25.59 AM.png

CCRN
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 6:15 pm

Re: S3D Slicing Issue

Post by CCRN » Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:05 pm

airscapes wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 3:54 am
First go to repair and check the model for errors
Next if these are thin walls, go to advance tab and turn set allow single extrude wall and allow single extrude infill and then slice
This fixed my slice. Thanks!

Post Reply