new owner and using simplify3d

Need some assistance getting started...post here...
Post Reply
alsted
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:34 am

new owner and using simplify3d

Post by alsted » Sat Feb 17, 2018 11:05 am

Hej
I have tried to generate gcode from simplify3d but i have some problems. I started out by getting the profiles for the printer, i'm currently using the MakerGear M3 Independent Dual profile.

My problem is that the print starts before the extruder is at set point :(

My first problem was that i select extruder 1 but but only set a setpoint for extruder 0 in simplify3d. After fixing that, i now have a setup where in simplify3d extruder 0 is at setup 215c and bed is 70c for PLA printing.

I then generate gcode and load it onto the printer. The print startes with heating up the bed and when at 70c the print starts! The extruder is not at set point.

Has any one had this getting started issue?

mathisyourfriend
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 8:34 pm

Re: new owner and using simplify3d

Post by mathisyourfriend » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:50 pm

In S3D there's a "wait until temp stabilizes" for extruders and the bed. Maybe you didn't check it for the extruder? Your description sounds like it's only checked for the bed.

alsted
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:34 am

Re: new owner and using simplify3d

Post by alsted » Sat Mar 03, 2018 8:33 am

Hi

Sorry for the late answer, real life work has kept me away from playing with my toys :)

You are absolutely right, thanks. I it is really unclear to me how i have unchecked that option.

Best
Jens

alsted
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:34 am

Re: new owner and using simplify3d

Post by alsted » Sat Mar 03, 2018 8:40 am

Hi

In the same vein, a new owner and S3D:

When i print using S3D i seem to have what I can read is an oozing problem. I have spidery thin strands and the top of the object (printable scenery rough stone floor), every where the extruder must stop and go to a new place it leaves a jagged top. It makes the end result look a bit like velcro :?
When i print the same object with the buildin slicer i dont have this issue.

I really wish to use S3D as the duplication mode is one of the primary reasons i bought MK3-ID and as i understand there is no duplication mode with the buildin slicer, is that correct?

best
Jens

User avatar
ednisley
Posts: 1040
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:34 pm
Location: Halfway up the Hudson
Contact:

Re: new owner and using simplify3d

Post by ednisley » Sat Mar 03, 2018 11:44 pm

alsted wrote:an oozing problem
Sounds more like overextrusion, cured by measuring the actual filament diameter, then calibrating the Extrusion Multiplier.

Read the howto guides for the process:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4711

That'll get you to the next stage of puzzlement ...

alsted
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:34 am

Re: new owner and using simplify3d

Post by alsted » Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:06 pm

Thanks
I will give it a go.

Best
Jens

User avatar
willnewton
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:32 pm

Re: new owner and using simplify3d

Post by willnewton » Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:37 pm

Ed is correct, but you did not mention your retraction settings, so I just wanted to check and make sure you have some retraction enabled to relieve filament pressure and reduce stringing. Sometimes a slight vertical nozzle lift will help as well.

If the stringing is VERY wispy and fine (smaller than hair) it may be harder to get rid of. I sometimes pass a lighter over it or a hot air gun to melt this superfine stringing.
I'm finally back to where I started two days ago!

A thread with some stuff in it I update every once in a while. viewtopic.php?f=8&t=9
See some of my stuff http://www.thingiverse.com/willnewton/about

strebdogman
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 2:20 pm

Re: new owner and using simplify3d

Post by strebdogman » Sat Apr 28, 2018 2:24 pm

I am also having that problem along with a few others. I purchased the M3ID specifically for terrain too. I cant justify printing things for D&D on my Form 2. I have had nothing but problems with the software from simplify 3D. is there another option other than this to use both heads at once?

Post Reply