Help with purchasing the proper MakerGear M2 setup

General discussion topics
Portertown

Help with purchasing the proper MakerGear M2 setup

Post by Portertown » Fri Aug 12, 2016 2:19 am

After about a month of looking at all the 3D printers on the market I have decided to purchase the MakerGear M2. Reading the great info on this forum and the members of this forum sharing so much info was a large part of why I selected the MakerGear.
I need a little help from the members here to make sure I purchase my printer setup so it will work the best for me and my needs. I am totally new to 3D printing.
I want setup my printer in a separate room from the room my desktop computer is located. I am planning to install Simplify3D on my desktop computer where I already have Fusion 360 design software installed. I plan to order the printer with the LCD installed at the factory and not use a computer at the printer. Just load print files with the SD card from the desktop computer into the LCD unit on the printer.
Is this a good way to proceed? Or would it be best to purchase a laptop computer for use with the printer?
I am a little confused about how to use the Quick Start App. Would it be ok to bring the printer to the desktop computer for the initial setup and then move it to the other room where it will be used?
Any help you can provide to this rookie would be greatly appreciated. I am open to any and all suggestions.

insta

Re: Help with purchasing the proper MakerGear M2 setup

Post by insta » Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:31 pm

Printer in the other room with SD card from my computer is exactly how I run. It works well, some pros & cons, but it's what I do.

You can also move the machine around to do the quickstart app, like you suggested. It'll work exactly as you hope :)
Custom 3D printing for you or your business -- quote [at] pingring.org

sprior

Post by sprior » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:12 pm